OCD or Anal Retentive?

Today’s Daily Post prompt is about what is messier: my room or my desktop or favorite device’s home screen.

To be perfectly honest, not too long ago that probably would have been my room. When I lived in my childhood home, my room was notorious for being a sty. I had no pride in my room and I usually was the only one who would go in there. I would sleep with clothes all over the bed, sometimes sleeping on a bed made of clothes. Shoes were nowhere to be found, art supplies, left everywhere, old plates and cups of food and drink on top of my desk or my headboard. It really was very disgusting.

Since moving out on my own (and it didn’t happen overnight, I can assure you) I have become extra neat. I don’t like to leave things lying around, I get grossed out by old food being out, and clothes on the bathroom floor upset me. I’ve always been a little crazy about my computer desktop and my phone and iPad screen being organized into folders and in a certain order by how much I use certain folders or apps.

I wouldn’t necessarily say I am completely anal retentive although I like to do things a certain way and when they aren’t done that way I sometimes have small freak outs. But I am not completely OCD either. I work like a mess, I just can’t stand to see the mess after I am done.

When I cook, you can be sure there will be dirty dishes everywhere and leftover cuttings from veggies on the counter and open packages littering the countertops. But after I finish eating, I immediately start to clean.

When I am doing homework I have to start with a completely clean space. I can’t even begin to do homework if there is a mess somewhere in the house. But when I start my homework, there are books lying on every open space, snack wrappers in a pile on the floor, pencils getting lost in couch cushions. Total, hot mess. But as soon as I am done it all goes back into its own special nook or cranny. Everything has a place and everything ends up very organized.

So what is messier right now? My room or my technology? I guess my room would be the messiest because I haven’t made the bed today (the only thing I don’t really care too much about unless I am going to be working on schoolwork in the room – which is rare) because my technology is always immaculate.

Screen Shot 2014-10-14 at 5.17.49 PM
My immaculately neat desktop. I originally didn’t want anything on it, but realized that wasn’t user-friendly so now I keep it to the bare minimum.
Leave a Reply

